London University awards, MP Keynan, judge Wanjala for service to humanity

Supreme Court judge (l) with Eldas MP Aden Keynan (r). [courtesy]

A London-based university has awarded honorary Doctorate degrees to Supreme Court judge Dr. Smokin Wanjala and Eldas MP Aden Keynan for their role in humanity and leadership.

The Commonwealth University in partnership with the London Graduate School in awarding Wanjala and Keynan said they have exhibited outstanding and consistent service to humanity and leadership.

For Dr Kenyan according to Daily Nation, the university noted he has transformed Wajir West and Eldas constituencies through his 20-year tenure in the Kenyan Parliament.

Keynan is a holder of two Masters’ degree- Public Administration from Moi University, and International Relations and Diplomacy from Kenyatta University.

Prior to 2013 when the new Constitution came into effect, Keynan served as Wajir West MP for 10 years.

His tenure as the area MP was punctuated by success and stood out as one of the best constituencies in utilization of the then Constituency Development Fund (CDF).

In 2013, he successfully vied for Eldas Parliamentary seat. Eldas is today the epitome of development in Northern Kenya.

His legacy is entrenched in an irrigation scheme he started in the constituency and his advocacy for diversification; from pastoralism to agriculture. He has improved food security in Northern Kenya.

He has so far launched a tree planting project in the area that now has about 10, 000 trees planted courtesy of his strong environmental campaign.

In the past three years, there has been a higher transition rate to secondary school in Eldas due to his huge backing in education. He has provided numerous scholarships to the bright but needy students.

Other positions is currently serving include his membership in the Parliamentary Network on the World Bank and International Monetary Fund, Global Action.

He is also an executive committee member of the Commonwealth Association of Accounts Committee.

Washington DC recently awarded him for his role in legislators in Economic Governance. In 2013, he was awarded a presidential award, Chief of the Order of the Burning Spear.