October 20, 2019

Ruto dismiss claims he is unhappy with Uhuru over Cabinet appointments

President Uhuru Kenyatta with Deputy President William Ruto [www.capitalfm.co.ke]

Deputy President William Ruto has spoken over his alleged tiff with President Uhuru Kenyatta over recent Cabinet appointments.

The DP spoke after a barrage of speculation from several quarters on Sunday.

He addressed the issue through his twitter handle where he cautioned some players against engaging in “useless political debates”.

He said the President should be accorded the space and time to do his job without being questioned.

“Kenyans, more so Jubilee should avoid useless political debates about positions including 2022,” said Ruto adding focus should be on delivering the Jubilee manifesto ahead of 2022.

“….focus single-mindedly on delivering our manifesto voted for by the people while allowing the President the space to perform his constitutional duty to assemble the team for us.”

To amplify the DP’s sentiments, his spokesman, David Mugonyi said Ruto has no role in appointment of the Cabinet; it is the sole preserve of President Uhuru.

“The Constitution is clear about who appoints Cabinet. The Deputy President has no role in this and it is Uhuru who has the responsibility to choose whomever he deems fit to hold a particular office,” said the DP’s Spokesman.

“This is not a coalition government where every partner has to be consulted. This is a Jubilee government led by President Uhuru. Those who are reading too much into this are living in the years of coalition government.”

There were reports that Ruto intentionally missed out on Friday’s State of the Nation address where Uhuru unveiled three cabinet nominees and retained six current Cabinet Secretaries.

Ruto was of the view that some of the sacked CSs should have been retained due to their exemplary performance.

Ex-Marsabit Governor Ukuru Yattani, DPP Keriako Tobiko and Ex-Turkana Senator John Munyes were nominated for Cabinet posts.

Dr Fred Matiang’i (Education), James Macharia (Transport), Joe Mucheru (ICT), Charles Keter (Energy), Najib Balala (Tourism) and Henry Rotich (Treasury) were retained.

But for 13 CSs, they are yet to know their fate. They are: Mwangi Kiunjuri (Devolution), Hassan Wario (Sports), Aden Mohammed (Industrialization), Amb. Amina Mohammed (Foreign Affairs), Eugene Wamalwa (Water and Irrigation), Dan Kazungu (Mining),Phylis Kandie (Labour), Prof Judy Wakhungu (Environment), Rachel Omamo (Defense), Sicily Kariuki (Public Service), Willy Bett (Agriculture), Cleopa Mailu (Health) and Jacob Kaimenyi (Lands).