Uhuru on the lead with 1.6M votes from 78 constituencies

President Uhuru Kenyatta at Kenol in Murang'a County[ pscu]

Election results uploaded on the IEBC portal shows President Uhuru Kenyatta is on the lead.

Uhuru has so far garnered 1,611, 359 million votes from 78 constituencies.

This represents 98 per cent the votes in constituencies whose Forms 34Bs had been uploaded on the IEBC portal by 10am.

NASA’s Raila Odinga comes in at a distant second position with a paltry 17,977 votes.

Raila pulled out of the race citing lack of faith in the IEBC. He said the electoral commission cannot conduct a credible poll.

This follows indictment by ex-commissioner Dr. Roslyn Akombe who said the commission was divided along party lines.

In response to her sentiments, IEBC Chair Wafula Chebukati said he cannot guarantee free, fair and credible repeat Presidential polls.

It is against this backdrop that a few days to the repeat polls, Raila insisted he cannot be part of them because the referee [Chebukati] has admitted they cannot conduct credible polls.

Other candidates in the race garnered votes as follows: Japeth Kaluyu 1,961 votes, Joe Nyaga 1, 112 votes while Cyrus Jirongo has so far managed 903 votes.

By 11am, IEBC had received 36,791 forms 34A and posted them on its public portal and 94 forms 34B.

Some returning officers have started arriving at the National Tallying Centre, Bomas of Kenya with hard copy results of what they transmitted electronically.