Prohibited places for US government personnel in Kenya

US Embassy Nairobi
US Embassy Nairobi. [Photo courtesy]

All US government personnel in Kenya have been banned from visiting several places.

This is contained in a June 8 Travel Alert Notice issued but the State Department.

According to the travel advisory, US government personnel should not travel to terror-prone regions.

These regions according to the Department of State include the Kenya-Somalia border. Counties in the North Eastern region are also a no-go zone for US personnel.

“Due to terrorism concerns, U.S. government personnel are prohibited from traveling to the Kenya-Somalia border counties and some coastal areas,” the statement read.

They should not visit Mandera, Wajir, Garissa, Tana River, Lamu, and some areas of Kilifi and north of Malindi.

Also, Turkana is a no-go zone due to banditry attacks along Kainuk-Lodwar road.

In the same notice, American nationals were warned against travelling to Nairobi due to ‘insecurity’.

Kibera and Eastleigh were termed hotspots of crime and kidnapping.
“Reconsider Travel to: Nairobi neighborhoods of Eastleigh and Kibera at all times due to crime and kidnapping. Be especially careful when traveling after dark anywhere in Kenya due to crime,” he alert added.

Those using the Likoni Ferry were also put on alert due to ‘crime incidences’.

“Consider carefully whether to use the Likoni ferry in Mombasa due to safety concerns.”